Monday, 20 Nov 2017

The University Council

E-mail Print PDF

Dr. Herbert Misigo Amatsimbi -Chairman
ChairDr. Herbert Misigo Amatsimbi is a Consultant specializing in History and Economic Development of Kenya and has vast experience in Academia. He is a designer of Governance Training Programmes and is currently Lecturer, Department of History at University of Nairobi.

He is an Author and Editor of several Publications in History and Economic Development of Kenya and has taught Courses such as Technological Change through time and History of Science and Technology among others.

Dr. Misigo has a wide administration experience having been Chair of an Academic Accreditation and Curriculum Committee and a Coordinator of a BA Tourism Programme.
He brings with him a wealth of experience from the World of Academic Circles.

Ms Francesca Cherotich Boen - Vice Chairman

Untitled-1Ms Francesca Cherotich Boen is a Dynamic Human Resource Professional with a proven record of over fifteen years of accomplishments in establishing Human Resource Strategies and Policies.

She currently holds a Senior Human Resource Position in a Government Institution. She has strong analytical organizational, interpersonal, negotiation and presentation skills and has conducted salary surveys within labour markets to determine competitive rates, ensuring peaceful industrial relations.

Ms. Boen has been a Teacher and a Bank Manager and therefore brings with her academic, finance and human resource development experience.

Photo Peter  Mwita

Prof. Peter Nyamuhanga Mwita – Treasurer/Chairman Finance Committee
BSc.(KU, Kenya), MAppStats.(Macquarie University, Australia), PhD. (Technical University of Kaiserslautern, Germany)

Prof. Peter Nyamuhanga Mwita is a well known statistician and scholar. He is a Senior member in the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Sciences and ag. Dean of the School of Mathematical Sciences at Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology. He is Chairman of the JKUAT Website Management Committee, whose efforts has continuously improved JKUAT in the webometrics performance ranking among more than 21500  institutions of Higher Learning in the world. He is a member of the Editorial Board, International Journal of Management and Administrative Sciences and Editorial Advisor, International Journal of Innovative Research and Studies.

Prof. Mwita has wide experience in Boardroom interactions having been Chairman of Kenya National Statistical Society and Chairman, Board of Directors of the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics.  He was actively involved in the National Population and Housing Census in 2009.

He brings on board vast experience in scholarship, Policy formation and website management.

Eng. Arthur Ogwayo - Member

MEMBER 12Eng. Arthur Ogwayo is a Founder Partner of M&E Consulting Engineers and former President of Federation of African Organizations of Engineers. He is also a member of Communications Appeals Tribunal and a Former Commissioner of CCK. He is currently a Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering in Local Universities.

Eng. Ogwayo has supervised a wide range of projects including street lighting, power distribution and standby power arrangements. He is currently coordinating a Team promoting use of renewable energy to supplement power generation in Kenya through the use of agricultural waste in clean power generation.

He has published several papers among others “Towards Sustainable Rural Electrification” East African Power and Mining Conference, (Dar es Salaam 2006)
He brings with him a wide experience in working with various Governing Boards, Professional Engineering as well as Teaching experience.

Mr. Zachary Ooko - Member

Alternate to Principal Secretary
Ministry of Education, Science & Technology

Mr. Moses Kanagi - Member

Alternate to Principal Secretary
National Treasury

MEMBER Member 1